10 minute free-write: First try!

…I think I should try to do this more often, I think it is productive. Breath, keep calm, everything is flowing, slowly and at your pace the way it normally goes but is flowing, just keep walking like “Juanito el Caminador” would say. I really miss my grandfather; I have quotes from him engraved in my memory, but sometimes he slips away. It’s curious that I dreamt about my grandma, she was acting like she was a young girl in the body of an old woman, making a tantrum because she didn’t want to turn 19 when she is already 97. It must be really weird get to that age and see yourself in the mirror…feel and think but not being able to string together anything when you try to verbalize it, everything gets confusing when it goes through the mouth, like if the tongue was conspiring against oneself, like if it might be a hacker in the vocal chords, sending opposite or incomprehensive signs. I think that must be one of the most difficult parts, want to say something, say to my kids that I love them, how I feel, that I don’t want to eat this, that I don’t like that show but still not being able to say it, and at the same time forget about it, forget what I wanted to say, and when trying to remember what it was, forget what I was trying to remember and start watching the television, and recognize something from my past in the image that I just saw and think that I’m there, and loose myself in that thought of my mind while I look like I’m watching the same show that everyone is watching, but I’m not there, I’m not, and I’m not here.

//

…Creo que debería intentar esto más seguido.me parece productivo. Respira, tranquila todo esta fluyendo, lentito y a tu tiempo como suele ir pero fluye, sólo sigue caminando como diría Juanito el caminador. Como extraño a mi abuelo, tengo frases de él grabadas en la memoria, pero a veces él se me escapa. Que curioso haber soñado con mi abuela era como una jovencita, pero en su cuerpo de viejita, haciendo berrinche porque estaba cumpliendo 19 cuando tiene 97. Sebe ser muy raro llegar a esa edad y verte en el espejo…sentir y pensar pero no hilar nada al tratar de verbalizarlo, todo se confunde cuando sale de la boca, como si la lengua complotara, como si hubiera un hacker en las cuerda vocales, mandando señales opuestas o incomprensibles. Creo que es lo debe de ser más difícil, el querer decir algo, decirles a mis hijos como me siento, que no me sirvan lo mismo de cenar diario, que no quiero ver ese programa, pero no poder decirlo y al mismo tiempo olvidarlo, olvidar que era lo que quería decir, y al tratar de recordarlo olvidar que quería decir algo y ver la televisión y reconocer algo de mi pasado en la imagen proyectada y pensar que estoy ahí, y perderme en mi mente mientras parece que veo pero no estoy ahí. No estoy ahí, ni aquí.

Leave a Reply

