32. Do a collection of poems and memorize the best

I decide to do this because my mom had a collection of poems when she was a teenager, which she still has (one of the few things that she keeps from her youth), and my uncles always recite poems from memory when a word of the poem came out on a random conversation, so I got curious.

I gather 60 poems of multiple authors, and probably I would add some more over the years. It’s been quite a discovery, but I enjoyed it. Not all poems of course, not all poetry, but it’s like everything in life, you have to look for the ones that make you feel something, or the ones that speaks to you. At the end it is what matters.

Here is the index of the collection in progress:

  1. Rhapsody on a Windy Night by T.S. Eliot
  2. Invictus by Ernest Henly
  3. Funeral Blues by W.H. Auden
  4. As I walk out one evening by W.H. Auden
  5. I Still Rise by Maya Angelou
  6. Sonnet 116 by William Shakespeare
  7. If Strangers Meet by E.E. Cummings
  8. The Second Coming by William Butler Yeats
  9. All that is gold does not glitter by John Ronald Reul Tolkien
  10. Be not Sad by James Joyce
  11. El Viaje by Carlos Pellicer
  12. How do I love Thee? by Elizabeth Barret Browning
  13. Bright Star by John Keats
  14. Instantes by Jorge Luis Borges
  15. Song of Myself by Walt Whitman
  16. Away! by Robert Frost
  17. Con flores escribes by Nezahualcoyotl
  18. Do not stand at my grave and weep by Mary Elizabeth Frye
  19. El Interrogador by Julio Cortazar
  20. Mujer en camisa by Rafael Alberti
  21. Music by Charles Baudelaire
  22. Inventar la verdad by Javier Villaurrutia
  23. The Taxi by Amy Lowell
  24. Soy by Josefina Pla
  25. Morning Song by Silvia Plath
  26. The Last Invocation by Walt Whitman
  27. Es la sombre del agua by Jaime Sabines
  28. El retorno by Salvador Novo
  29. El sediento by Octavio Paz
  30. Ama tu ritmo by Rubén Dario
  31. No es nada de tu cuerpo by Jaime Sabines
  32. Para leer en forma interrogativa by Julio Cortazar
  33. Luna Congelada by Mario Benedetti
  34. Soneto XVII by Pablo Neruda
  35. Requiescat by Oscar Wilde
  36. Hiroshima by Sarah Kay
  37. If I should have a daughter by Sarah Kay
  38. Puedo escribir los versos más tristes seta noche by Pablo Neruda
  39. Si me quieres, quiéreme entera by Dulce María Loynaz
  40. La felicidad by Manuel Acuña
  41. Todo comenzó en el espejo by Josefina Plá
  42. Tus Manos by Josefina Plá
  43. We’ll go no more A-Roving by Lord Byron
  44. Since feeling is first by E.E. Cummings
  45. Daddy  by Sylvia Plath
  46. Si tú me olvidas  by Pablo Neruda
  47. A Song of Life by Ella Wheeler Wilcox
  48. The Happiest Day by Allan Poe
  49. If by Rudyard Kipling
  50. Alone by Allan Poe
  51. Otoño by Rubén Dario
  52. Rima IX by Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer
  53. El miedo by Pablo Neruda
  54. Besos by Gabriela Mistral
  55. Dame la mano by Gabriela Mistral
  56. La canción desesperada by Pablo Neruda
  57. Viceversa by Mario Benedetti
  58. No te Salves by Mario Benedetti
  59. Uno Aprende by Jorge Luis Borges
  60. El sueño by Jorge Luis Borges

And the poem that I decide to memorize was: Ama tu ritmo by Ruben Dario because I think that it has to do with where I am now, what I discover, and what it is being me. Though I also love Funeral Blues by W.H. Auden, but that poem is completely mournful, maybe in other time.

Do you have any suggestions of poems I should read?

Leave a Reply

